05
Mar
10

Mixed Blessings

I’m currently packing to leave for a flight to LA, where I’ll be live blogging the Oscars.

It was very exciting for me, to imagine being able to simultaneously blog across my four well-known blogs, all the beauty and style that was happening across the red carpet.

When, suddenly, I got an email from one of my main outlets – Splendicity.com – that all was kaput. Finito. eBeautyDaily.com, ShopaholicsDaily.com, and my hair section all dead. Effective immediately. Can’t even log-in to say goodbye to my readers – which is the most unfortunate part of all.

Normally, I’d never air my dirty laundry like this on the web – it’s tacky. But this time I was given no other choice. Good news is I got the final push I needed…Welcome to my new blog. So, please add AlyWalansky.com to your blogroll! It’ll be pretty skeletal for now…but when it expands, watch out!

And I shall STILL be live-blogging from the Oscars, as well as on SheKnows.com – as well as on Twitter at @alywalansky – with a lot of new and exciting things to come. Plus I’ve finally realized that doing your own thing, and not relying on the whims of others – is completely the only way to live.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends!

16 Responses to “Mixed Blessings”


  1. 1 Gae
    March 5, 2010 at 11:15 am

    I always enjoy reading your daily blogs and will continue to follow you. Good luck 🙂

  2. March 5, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Really awful to shut down on people all of a sudden when obviously, based on the last round of writers this happened to a few weeks ago, it was in the works for awhile. A bit of notice can go a long way.

    However, I foresee a silver lining in all of it!! Look forward to following your new blog.

  3. March 5, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I have no doubt that that unexpected email bearing no notice will lead to bigger and better opportunities for you. Enjoy El Lay! I’m sure you will come back to an inbox of fabulousness.

    xo
    V

  4. March 5, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Sorry to hear about this! Some of my favorite blogs will be gone! I linked you up on my links page on Beauty and Fashion Tech and on the Girl Gloss blogroll.

  5. March 5, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that. It was awful when b5media did that a few weeks ago — and I can’t believe they are doing it again. Shame on that company for not valuing its writers more. But good for you for doing your own thing. I wish you all the best.

  6. March 5, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    So sorry, Aly. They should have given you some notice, but I look forward to reading your new blog. Glad you went out on your own, and I’ll still follow you on SheKnows.  So excited for your Oscar updates (and jealous-wish I was with you)! 

  7. March 5, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    It was fun working together at Splendicity Aly – I hope things go really well with this blog for you now!

  8. March 5, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Lemons into lemonade – kudos to you for focusing on a (fantastic!) solution instead of wallowing in it. Brava! I look forward to reading the genuine Aly blog.

    And have a great time covering the Oscars! Hopefully the rain will let up by then.

    XOXO Marty

  9. 9 Candice
    March 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Wow, a perfect lesson in how not to treat people! 😦

    Good for you with your quick thinking! Your new site is officially on my radar and I’m looking forward to your Oscar musings.

    Have a great time in LA, and let us know if you spot any “celebs” wearing too short wide legged pants worn with high heels!

    Have a great trip!

    xoxoxC

  10. 10 Adelaide Polk-Bauman
    March 5, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    All the power to ya, Aly!!!

  11. March 5, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    i am a firm believer that all things happen for a reason…even if we don’t have an immediate answer as to what that reason may be. there is absolutely, unequivocally nothing better than running your own gig. enjoy!

  12. March 5, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Odd situation but I love your writing and style, so I’m glad to find your new home. Best of luck!

  13. March 5, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Dear Aly,

    May the envelope mysteriously contain YOUR name.

  14. March 8, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Glad to be able to follow all things Aly Walansky at alywalansky.com, tres appropo! You have officially been bookmarked! NYC toast to bigger and better things!

  15. March 20, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    oh wow… so that’s why you started your site? Well I’m glad you did!

  16. April 1, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I enjoy reading your new blog. Looking forward to reading more in the future.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


