12
Mar
10

Banishing Winter Blues

Raise your hands if you are suffering from the winter blues?

Dark mornings, cold days and blustery winds can easily give us this affliction. Put a little pep in your step and make these cold months a little brighter with some tips from Natalie Cupid, sunless tanning expert and lead esthetician at Sundara Airbrush Tanning in Hell’s Kitchen.

Recreate that summer feeling (and the tanned look) even when it’s freezing outside with Natalie’s tricks:

* Add a few drops of self-tanner to your face lotions and body creams, giving your moisturization routine a hint of color without the concern of streaking or rubbing the color off on your clothes. Allow the lotion to sink in for a few minutes before getting dressed. The end result is a slight glow that will instantly brighten your mood.
* Moisturize with your favorite sunscreen. Sounds strange, but there are a ton of common ingredients in lotions and sunscreens that are effective for skin hydration. Your summer SPF probably has a smell that reminds you of warmer days – applying it on frigid days will instantly trigger thoughts of days spent poolside. If possible, pick a tinted sunscreen or one with bronzer built in for an added touch of color.
* Try airbrush tanning. Gone are the days of the UV beds, which are unhealthy and can leave you with that familiar orange fake-baked color. Instead, visit an airbrush tanning salon like Sundara in NYC, where trained technicians will customize your tan to give you a little boost for your color and your mood. Instead of a ghostly orange face staring back at you this winter, you’ll see a glowing, radiant face that looks healthy.
* Make bronzer your friend, not your master. Women most often complain about looking “pasty” in the winter months and slather on bronzer, often ending up with ruddy and unnatural looking skin. Put down the bronzer – instead of a full-on bronzed face, aim to sweep a hue lighter than your summer bronzer over nose and cheeks, lightly dusting remnants onto chin and forehead. It will perk up your face without looking dirty or fake.

21 Responses to “Banishing Winter Blues”


  1. 1 Theresa Jenkins
    March 13, 2010 at 2:10 am

    thanks for the ideas,I’ll pass them along…I’ve heard of using a Sun lamp (not a sun tanning lamp) and bright colors

  2. 2 Nina
    March 13, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I absolutely can’t wait for summer! I haven’t tried self-tanner (I’m quite scared of them) but it’s my goal to master its application! 🙂

  3. 3 Terri Dell
    March 13, 2010 at 7:15 am

    I never thought to add sunless tanner to my moisturizers. What a great idea. And – it won’t streak they way it normally does. This would really make me feel like winter is ending. I’m so ready for spring that I am looking forward to losing an hour of sleep tonight LOL

  4. 4 Gary Gammon
    March 13, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Great ideas.

  5. 5 Tarah
    March 13, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I always mix a little bronzer with blush in the winter, in Michigan you turn mega pale with the lack of sun in the winter!

  6. 6 Mellissa C
    March 13, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I am going to start airbrush tanning. I have gotton very pale in these winter months. Thanks for the advice.

  7. 7 creep4ward
    March 13, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    That’s funny-I just got out the self tanner the other day after shaving my legs and realizing that they might actually see daylight soon… Good post.

  8. 8 NJJ
    March 13, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Great tips. I love the make bronzer your friend tip. Its so true LOL! 😀

  9. March 13, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Like the bronzer tip. So many women do NOT understand bronzer – it’s sad, really, It CAN be used year-round – just has to be done right.

  10. March 14, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I’ve found that aromatherapy also helps. Oils or incense in scents like grapefruit or spearmint will really liven you up!

  11. March 14, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    what about us darker girls? I like the SPF moisturizer idea, but I don’t have a need for self tanners or bronzers? Any more tips?

  12. 12 sarah l.
    March 15, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Yes, I have the winter blues. I try to get out in the sun as much as I can. Spring is coming – I heard some spring birds this morning.

  13. 13 loveofmusic
    March 15, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    one thing I used the help the ‘winter blahs’ this year – going on google and looking at pics of sunny beaches.

  14. March 15, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Thanks for the posts about beating the winter blues. I had heard about using a tanning bed, which is so bad for the skin, so it is nice to know other methods!

  15. March 16, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Love the idea of just adding a few drops of self tanner. Hadn’t thought of this! Thanks!

  16. 16 Diane
    March 17, 2010 at 7:43 am

    So tired of the winter, but right now, temps are nearing 60 degrees! Thanks for your tips 🙂

  17. 17 Kelly R
    March 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I so have the winter blahs. Winter just seems so long here in Wyoming. There is snow on the ground as I write this and it is depressing. But, Spring is hopefully just around the corner!

  18. March 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    I love the idea of using sunscreen just as a lotion. The scent of sunscreen always reminds me of the beach, and using it would be a great way to experience the beach even if it is still too cold to go!

  19. 19 Michelle C
    March 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I thought SPring was here but today is snow so this post was perfect

  20. March 28, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    So many great tips – I’m ready for winter to be done!

  21. 21 DANIELLE WALDO
    March 29, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Tried it loved it everyone at work says my skin looks healthy.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


