13
Mar
10

Spa-ing on the Road: BHPS

I was in LA for the absolutely glorious Oscar weekend last weekend, and had an amazing time. But the lead-up was just as much fun as the event itself!

BHPS

Just minutes off the plane, I stopped by BHPS — located on Wilshire and Beverly, just minutes from my hotel — dor a facial with Alexa. She was amazing! BHPS is a med spa, so the facials there are customized and medical-grade –she even used a skin scope on me to see just what was going on with my skin, from the inside-out!

Turns out, my skin is in way better shape than I thought. I did have a bit of sun damage, but my skin was in good shape, where it should be at my age, and not even as dehydrated as I feared.

I got the Red Carpet works with Alexa, which involved everything from a glycolic chemical peel to microderm. Then, as Alexa applied a fabulous masque to my face, she massaged my hands and shoulders. Let me tell you, after sitting on a plane for half a day, it was exactly what I needed.

After my amazing facial — my skin glowed! — I wanted to know how to KEEP it in good condition, so I hit up BHPS’ spa director, Christine Chiu for some summerizing your skin tips – great for the Oscars, and beyond!

· Exfoliate.

Your skin continually turns over and sheds skin cells, making it look dull and dry. For body, use a scrub like a loofah, washcloth, or beaded cleanser 2-3 times per week. For the face, use a mechanical (microderm brush or cleansing scrub) or chemical (with glycolic, lactic or salicylic acid) exfoliant. As an added incentive, exfoliated skin will help self-tanners and tan accelerators go on more smoothly, making them less likely to streak.

· Moisturize.

After you exfoliate, moisturizing is key. Try using a lighter lotion or even gel based moisturizer. The best time to apply is right after you dry off from your shower to seal in the moisture on your body. For your face, use a high quality moisturizer made specifically for your skin type. It’s best to get specific recommendations from a medical professional.

· Protect.

Use a full spectrum sunscreen/sunfilter that blocks UVA and UVB rays. Physical blockers that contain titanium or zinc oxide are very good, as well as safe for children, since they don’t have chemicals that may cause allergies or sensitivities. One with an SPF of at least 30 (preferably 40) is recommended. Remember that your lips are exposed too, so use a lip balm with sunscreen to protect as well as moisturize your lips. Finally, make sure that you use sunscreen properly, applying 30 minutes before exposure and reapplying often, about every two hours.

· Hydrate.

Depending on the temperature, humidity, and the type of activity you may be planning, hydrating your body is a necessity for your body and your skin. We’ve all heard that drinking 8 glasses of water a day is a good guideline, but you need to add fluids when you are active. Whether you are walking, running, or playing sports, consider drinking 2 cups about 2 hours before your activity. During it, drink 4-6 ounces every 15-20 minutes and then at least a glass when you are done.

8 Responses to “Spa-ing on the Road: BHPS”


  1. March 14, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Thanks for the tips for road “maintenance”. I actually just got back from vacation, and yes, HYDRATION inside and out was crucial.

  2. March 14, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    i love exfoliating! But can’t it be too much? How often should I do it and does it depend on skin type? I tend to be on the dry side.

    Roxy

    twitter: @hockiemack

  3. 3 Diane
    March 16, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Again, just one time in life…”the red carpet works” sounds so fabulous!

  4. 4 LRM
    March 17, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Don’t you love hearing that your skin isn’t as bad as you thought it was? I’m an exfoliating fanatic – I use a chemical exfoliator nightly.

  5. 5 Falon
    March 21, 2010 at 4:43 am

    These tips will really come in handy. Thanks!

  6. 6 Jacqueline Griffin
    March 27, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Wow! Great advise. I like that you let us know to moisturize right after you get out of the shower, I never would have know that, I mean the skin is still kind of wet who would have thought. I live in the desert and need all the moisturizing tips I can get. I alway’s envy the beautiful southern ladie’s skin. Thank You!!!

  7. March 28, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Hydration really is important, especially when travelling – I’ve noticed a difference if I don’t make sure to up my water intake when I travel a lot (my skin looks dull, I get headaches, etc.).

    I bet the Red Carpet works was amazing!

  8. April 1, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Thanks for the tips!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


