25
Mar
10

Escaping from Life: Travel Journalism

I’m curious: For my travel writer friends reading this: Do you feel ever like we all engage in a little bit of escapism? Or perhaps even Peter Pan syndrome? We get to run away every few weeks (or more often) to an exotic locale – under the guise of work nobility – and leave life and all its dramas behind.

And shockingly, it actually sometimes works. Until you receive a random email. or text message. Or phone call. Or tweet. And you are like…hey, a few thousand miles away, it’s all still there. Except it sort of kind of follows you anyway.

19 Responses to “Escaping from Life: Travel Journalism”


  1. 1 Gae
    March 25, 2010 at 8:59 am

    We can’t run away, as long as technology exist we are.

  2. 2 Ravzie
    March 25, 2010 at 10:54 am

    You are texting and blogging every day, so you are still working – just in a nice place!!! LOL

  3. 3 Diane
    March 26, 2010 at 7:35 am

    I only wish I could be traveling and writing..

  4. March 26, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I look at it as escaping the routine…busting through the predictible patterns in our life to learn and experience something new. Routine can be comforting but also doesn’t challenge us to face our misperceptions and embrace other viewpoints. To me travel is a tonic to our preconceived notions

  5. 5 Sarah L
    March 27, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    You can’t run away from life, but you can shake up your world by doing and going different places.

  6. 6 Chanda
    March 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hi, I bet one of those new Toshiba Satellite M505D Laptops would be great to bring with you as you travel to exotic places! I just entered to win on SheKnows!

  7. 7 Meg
    March 27, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    So looking forward to attending my cousin’s wedding in Scotland this fall… Other cousins who can’t attend have made me promise to take copious notes and photos of all the events so they won’t feel so deprived… Now if only we could solve the problem of those sad looking passport photos….

  8. March 28, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Definitely can’t escape like we used to – technology keeps us plugged in 24/7/365 (if we let it).

  9. March 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I am not a real writer by any means but my mother is. She is an author and its funny that you posted this because even though she tries her hardest to get away she never really gets away! I am coming from your other site for the laptop giveaway! Hope I win! Thanks bunches

  10. 10 Hunter Eldridge
    March 29, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I think there is so much thrill and excitement when traveling and then when things go wrong they really go wrong. I never had that chance to travel the world but i sure do have alot saved up at the moment being put away just for that reason. I just wish i could travel the world and work at the same time but i see it nearly impossible. I am a decent writer but i could never write about what others wanted limiting me on jobs i could have in journalism.

  11. 11 thomas griffin
    March 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    escaped last week.went to vegas for the first time …then my laptop died.welcome back to reality

  12. 12 Kimberly
    March 31, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Sounds like you need to “forget” your phone. It’ll be there when you get back. Although I love me cell phone, I hate that it gives me no reason to miss a phone call. Ever.

  13. 13 Jenny
    March 31, 2010 at 11:45 am

    The real escape comes when you’re there, on your own terms, with your own agenda and don’t owe anyone your time or opinion!

  14. March 31, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    all the freakin time…

  15. 15 Ali
    March 31, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I would enjoy such a job!

  16. April 1, 2010 at 12:17 am

    What a wonderful opportunity to travel and see the world. Technology does make the world a smaller place though (which can be a bad thing if you’re trying to get away).

  17. 17 Betty C
    April 1, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I always say I’m not going to check in with anyone via Twitter or email when I go on vacation, but I just can’t resist. So it isn’t the technology that interferes, it’s my lack of resistance.

  18. 18 Karen P
    April 14, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I wish I had this problem. 🙂

  19. 19 carol y l
    April 20, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Oh yeah. It seems whenever we go on a vacation far away something happens at home. Last time a lady visited and broke her ankle she said-on my property! My kids grown kids let me know. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


