25
Mar
10

Greetings from Cancun!

I’m not sure if you have had the opportunity to be following my tweets, but all this week I am at the fabulous Royal Holiday Cancun Caribe Park Royal Grand.

It’s impossible to visit this region and not feel the beauty — though, the obscureness of it all. It’s essentially, at parts, the Sunset Strip dropped in the middle of Mayan Ruins…surrounded by all-inclusive resorts. It’s all a little weird, and yet, at the same time charming and delightful.

I’m here to review the resort, though, and the Royal Holiday has been a beautiful and gracious experience. It has — and let me tell you, this is RARE for tropical environments – high-speed internet in all rooms, and throughout the grounds.

For those of you who are not psychos like me and know how to truly vacation, it also boasts completely all-inclusive full-service restaurants and bars (and room service). Even the mini bar – which comes stocked with said Corona Extra – is complimentary.

Crowning glory is the amazing showers – they have heads from the side and the top. It feels like a waterfall!

The resort has 8 miles of white sandy beaches, but honestly, I’m very very content at the in-pool bar.

Yesterday, we took a day trip to Xel-Ha – and it was about an hour ride, so you have to be committed to it – but so fun. It was like a grownup playground!

This place was so cool: Their main attraction (no pun intended) is an all-inclusive tour package, which offers a day of fun with round trip transporation, a Xel-Ha official tour, entrance to the park, aquatic and land activities, all food and beverages, including open bar on national drinks, lifejackets, floating tires, snorkeling equipment, lockers and an ecotour. Seriously, visitors can get all this for starting at around $79 US. That’s crazy considering many in our group drank that in tequila!

I leave tomorrow afternoon, and at that time, I’ll probably be able to do much more posting – right now, I have serious margarita-ing by the beach to do. Please follow the fun on Twitter!

34 Responses to “Greetings from Cancun!”


  1. 1 Diane
    March 25, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Wow! What a great job you have :), sounds like heaven! I’m so jelous!

  2. 2 Sarah L
    March 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Yesterday we had 12 inches of snow here in the western suburbs of Denver so your trip looks very, very good to me right now. The resort looks beautiful and the all-inclusive part is wonderful.

  3. March 25, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    It’s been nice meeting you! I wanna review NYC. Can I come visit you? lol How’s that for inviting myself? Just kidding, but seriously, it is great here isn’t it?

  4. March 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    That place looks AMAZING! I love that it’s all-inclusive πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Michelle C
    March 25, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Wow you made me jealous. Looks so beautiful.

  6. 6 Rich Kee
    March 25, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Jealous of this! I would LOVE to have a chance to go somewhere like this. :O

  7. 7 Tallanya Morley
    March 25, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Wow. What I would give to go to Cancun, lucky!!!

  8. 8 Tarah
    March 26, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Wow – it looks beautiful! Enjoy the weather!

  9. 9 Ravzie
    March 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I’ve been enjoying your tweets from Cancun! Looks like a wonderful place to relax!

  10. 10 Huguette E.
    March 26, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Wow, what a beautiful place. Would love to be there right now, it’s so cold!

  11. 11 Liz
    March 26, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    So so nice! How do I get to go there? πŸ™‚

  12. March 26, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    I love Cancun! And Xel-ha is fun, I also enjoyed visiting there. Will you be visiting chichinitza? have you gone horseback riding on the beach yet? dolphin encounters? Take advantage of all Cancun has to offer, have fun, be safe, and keep sending us your ‘reports’ from the field!

  13. 13 AEVande
    March 27, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Looks like a nice hotel!! Wish I was there!! It’s cold here!!

  14. 15 Melanie
    March 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    WOW! That seems like an unbelievable value. Drinks included as well! I never would have imagined how beautiful the area is without your photos.

  15. 16 Rhonda Struthers
    March 28, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    First time in ages that I haven’t gone away in the winter. Eventhough we had the best winter on record in Ottawa, I still feel cheated in going away. If I can’t go away then winning a laptop would be next best

    rhondastruthers at yahoo.ca

  16. March 28, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I love traveling! It is wonderful hearing about great hotels someone else has stayed at.

  17. 18 Randy Bailey
    March 28, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    You are so very lucky!!

  18. 19 Elkaye
    March 29, 2010 at 7:17 am

    That hotel looks wonderful. Hope you are enjoying your stay!

  19. 20 HG ONG
    March 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Wow, it is seriously a wonderful place to visit and relax ourself. I have always been dreaming of visiting these kind of places for years but it never come true. You are very lucky enough to try it there.

  20. 21 Benita G.
    March 29, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    The are is so calming and so serene. One can’t help but look and feel beautiful there.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

  21. 22 Patty Smith
    March 31, 2010 at 12:22 am

    wow, your job sounds boring… NOT

  22. March 31, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    GORGEOUS! so jealous!

  23. 24 taylor
    March 31, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I’ve never been to cancun but I imagine it’s a relaxing scenic place to chill out. I’d be thrilled to just leave the Pennsylvania area or maybe visit Mount Rushmore as I’ve wanted to do that for quite a while now.

  24. April 1, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Wow! That looks beautiful!

  25. April 1, 2010 at 10:12 am

    sounds like a dream. my cousin is going to cancun in october and was looking for just such a place. Ill have to pass it along.

  26. 27 Saiyid Ma
    April 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I’m afraid of going to Cancun, partially because of the safety concerns and that it’s a very popular Spring Break destination, but those beaches look amazing!

  27. 28 Julie Cutshaw
    April 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    oh I would love to vacation in that beautiful place, one can hope that someday my husband & I can go somewhere ;like that maybe to celebrate of many years of wedded bliss.We were in the navy for 20 years and he was the only one who got to go over seas and see places like that & I told him he has to take me one day.
    sewitupjulie at gmail dot com

  28. 29 Carole S
    April 17, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Lucky you to be able to review such a gorgeous resort. I’ve never been to Cancun but I have gone to Acapulco–the beaches were beautiful there.

  29. 30 Claudia
    April 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I went to Xel-Ha about 2 years ago and it was amazing. I wish I could go back again. Mexico is a great place for a vacation. The beaches are gorgeous!!!

  30. 31 Erica C.
    April 19, 2010 at 4:28 am

    I’m super jealous of this trip!

  31. 32 Nicole G.
    April 19, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Sweet, hope it was fantabulous!

  32. 33 Jeanette H.
    April 20, 2010 at 6:43 am

    That looks fantastic!! I have been looking for a place to vacation this year…may have to check into cancun!!

  33. July 26, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Cancun is awesome I want to move there LOL but a cancun all inclusive resorts package will sufice for now.

    Chris


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


