28
Mar
10

I’m a Judge: French Culinary Institute Student Finals

Time to break out my elastic waistband…

Apparently, these days I’m moonlighting as a food critic. (Truly, it’s another dream realized…everyone knows I spend many a sleepless night watching Iron Chef America.)

A few weeks ago, I was asked to be a judge at the Manichewitz national cook-off finals, and it was a blast. I thought it was a blip in my random and bizarre life…and then Friday, I got off the plane to a voice mail from the French Culinary Institute! Apparently, tomorrow is their student cooking finals, and they asked me to come in and judge it!

So, I shall be spending several hours tomorrow afternoon eating in the name of education. God bless America. (And the French.) And can we think of a better Passover pregame…on earth?

Follow me on Twitter for a blow-by-blow of everything starting at noon tomorrow. Including all the delicious food I’m sure to be eating! (In moderation, of course.)

21 Responses to “I’m a Judge: French Culinary Institute Student Finals”


  1. 1 Molly Capel
    March 28, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    How fun! We watch alot of competition cooking shows on tv, and I have always thought it would be hard to be a judge.

  2. 2 Crystal A Warren
    March 29, 2010 at 4:28 am

    everytime I watch the Iron Chef I dream of being one of the judges!! This would be soo cool! Although I always wonder how do you not get too full!

  3. 3 Tarah
    March 29, 2010 at 6:47 am

    That is AWESOME! I would love to be a food judge! I too ♥ Iron Chef!

  4. 4 Diane
    March 29, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Wow! lucky you…have a great time and eat well 🙂 I envy you!

  5. 5 Ravzie
    March 29, 2010 at 9:23 am

    That sounds like fun! Now I know what your tweets meant, LOL. I’ll be looking forward to reading more!

  6. 6 Kirsten
    March 29, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Oh, man…take me with you next time! You have the most exciting life. But you probably know that, eh? 🙂

  7. March 29, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Aw man, food critic is like my dream job. I’d envy anyone who gets to be a professional taster. Yum.

  8. March 29, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    I so envy you, I’m always trying to find new food to feed the family.

  9. 9 Elkaye
    March 30, 2010 at 5:51 am

    I would love to be in your shoes. I really enjoy trying new foods when given a chance!

    Oh, and I was a fan of the original Iron Chef Program that came from Japan. Granted, it could be a little over the top, but I liked watching. 😀

  10. 10 Havilland
    March 30, 2010 at 8:02 am

    This sounds like a fun experience! I would love to do this once…or to have a friend in culinary school who invites me over to taste his or her “homework”. LOL!

    Havilland

    HavillandSavage@yahoo.com
    @HavillandSavage – Twitter

  11. 11 Marta D
    March 31, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Sounds like a fun day, hope you’ve enjoyed it.

  12. 12 Kim LaSusa
    March 31, 2010 at 11:06 am

    this must have been a blast! I’m a (not so) closet foodie, although ICE was my alma mater, not FCI. I am always so amazed to find that the simplest dishes are the tastiest and prettiest. Simple and straight doesnt’ always mean boring!!!

  13. March 31, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    i am so jealous! I love food!

  14. March 31, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Happy Passover! You must have had fun judging yummy food. 🙂

    @DinaJ

  15. April 1, 2010 at 12:01 am

    How fun! I wish I could eat for a living – it’s one of my favorite pastimes!

  16. April 1, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    What a cool experience! I’m envious. I’d love to judge a cooking competition 🙂

  17. 17 carol y l
    April 1, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Oh my gosh! I can’t even imagine how neat that would be! Good for you!

  18. 18 Lily Kwan
    April 2, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Sounds very fun and exciting! I’m jealous. ;0D

  19. 19 Ann T.
    April 10, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    omg I remember you tweets that day and was hungry every time I read your tweets,. I want your lifestyle and job =)

  20. 20 Karen P
    April 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    If you don’t want to risk the calories I am happy to be your alternate.

  21. 21 CJ
    April 20, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    What a yummy honor.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


