28
Mar
10

What’s Your Beauty Secret?

Yesterday morning, just hours off the plane back from Cancun, I attended the Essence Magazine/Johnson’s Baby Oil brunch at the W Hotel in New York.

It was super fun because I got to be reunited with the gal pals I don’t get to see when I travel too often — but I also learned so much skincare secrets that I can’t wait to pass on to all of you.

Impromptu twitpic with Felicia Walker Benson (ThisThatBeauty.com) and Lianne Farbes (TheMakeupGirl.net)

Hosted by the brilliant Mikki Taylor, Beauty Director of Essence Magazine, we sat down to brunch while chatting with a panel of experts that included Tia Dantzler, a Celebrity Makeup Artist, Sam Fine, Celebrity Makeup Artist (and the funniest man I have EVER met), Dr. Rosemarie Ingleton, M.D., P.C. a celebrity NYC Dermatologist and Lisa Wu-Hartwell of Real Housewives of Atlanta.

Some of the super-important ‘beauty secrets” the panel shared are below. Note, some of these are things you should already know, but are worth reminding:

1 – Always wear moisturizer. Even if you have oily skin and think you don’t need it.

2 – Get as much sleep as you can a night — it’s good for your skin, and your skin will show it if you don’t!

3 – Drink tons of water. Lisa Wu-Hartwell swears by it, and she’s breathtakingly gorgeous in person.

4. Always cleanse before bed — no matter how tired/drunk/busy you think you are. I am guilty of sometimes forgetting, but Mikki Taylor rightly reminded that if you do not, you are sleeping with the enemy – as in all that day’s grime/makeup.

5. Sam Fine rocks. He had amazing advice throughout the afternoon, including “spackle before you paint” – as in be sure to use concealer before you put on your makeup! He also encourages the use of highlighter and bronzer to create fabulous skin – but only go a shade darker than your own skin tone.

6. Want to make your legs look more toned? Mix baby oil with bronzer! I’m so stealing this idea when I go to Riveria Maya next week!

Now that I’ve shared these beauty secrets, please share yours! What are your favorite beauty secrets – either that you’ve learned from an expert, or from your own life?

34 Responses to “What’s Your Beauty Secret?”


  1. 1 Candice
    March 28, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    My beauty secret to share:

    If you’re using eye cream or gel before going out for the day or evening and your eyes are a bit puffy, then put a couple of teaspoons in the freezer. Apply your eye cream, and then take the spoons from the freezer and use the back of them to gently pat all the around the eye area. This will help spread the cream, “deflate” some of the puffiness, and make your eyes feel more well rested.

  2. March 28, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    OMG Candice! People used to look at me like I was crazy for keeping spoons in the freezer. It’s hands down the BEST puffy eye remedy ever.

  3. 3 Gae
    March 29, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Baby Oil is the absolute best eye make up remover. BUT if you put it on your legs in the sun you will fry

  4. 4 Elkaye
    March 29, 2010 at 7:27 am

    I use cocoa butter for my lips at night to keep them moisturized.

  5. 5 Kimberly
    March 29, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    One of my favorite easy tricks that really does work is to use vaseline as an instense foot moisutirzer. Apply it before bed and wear thick socks and your skin will be super soft. Just be careful getting up in the morning!

  6. 6 Sarah L
    March 29, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    They covered my two big ones: Plenty of sleep and lots of water.

  7. 7 Melissa D
    March 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Spoons in the freezer?! This puffy-eyed girl bows down to you in gratitude! Can’t wait to try it…

    I love tip 3 – Drink tons of water.

    Thanks!

  8. 8 Eileen Burke
    March 29, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    My beauty tip would be that if your skin is oily do NOT overwash it! You’d think it would dry that oil right up but all it does is stimulate those oil glands to produce more!

  9. 9 Michelle Choi
    March 29, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Eyedrops! Some redness relief eyedrops will make any pimples/red bumps look better in just 5 minutes. Also, I always use a base before foundation. Smoother, more natural finish and longer lasting. I love the one by Benefit.

  10. 10 DG
    March 30, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    When I get enough sleep and I get all my daily veggies and fruits and exercise in I feel like the most beautiful person. Mascara and moisturizer don’t hurt either 🙂

  11. March 30, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    My beauty secret? Less is more! I try to put on as little foundation as possible… I see women with foundation sinking into their wrinkles… *shudders* I like a fresh faced look!

  12. 12 shanna
    March 31, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Love this! Great tips! I am going to mix bronzer with baby oil.
    Good beauty tip!

  13. 13 Chandra J. Greene
    March 31, 2010 at 11:04 am

    My beauty secret is A&D Ointment…for the lips, elbows, knees, feet and that occasional new tattoo 🙂

  14. March 31, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    floss! Healthy gums make a better smile!

  15. March 31, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    My beauty secret is I wear very little make up my husband loves me no matter what I have caked on my face. Also to much make up plays games with my skin.

  16. 16 katie
    March 31, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    I love the tip of getting lots of sleep–it’s difficult to arrange sometimes but so worth it!

  17. 17 Erin Walsh
    March 31, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I had been using a name brand hair “smoothing serum” that had been recommended to me by a stylist. And at first I was thrilled by it. I wondered how I managed without it all of my life. It smoothed my hair down, tamed the frizzies, even in humid weather and made it shine.

    But eventually reality set in, and I realized that as great as it made my hair look, in reality my hair, without it, seemed to be getting worse, drier, more coarse. I don’t know if it was the silicone or some other ingredient, but it was definitely worse.

    I started trying home remedies, deep conditioning with mayonnaise and olive oil. And then one day I tried putting a drop of olive oil in my hand after styling my hair, and rubbing it into my hands until it was very lightly spread all over. And then very gingerly, I did the same thing that I had done with the other product, to gently smooth and make my hair shine.

    I love it. It’s definitely healthier for my hair, and as long as I use it very lightly and take my time putting it on, so that I don’t over do it, it looks just as good, if not better than the silicone product. And I don’t have to feel guilty about using it.

  18. April 1, 2010 at 12:13 am

    My beauty secret is to enjoy a piece of chocolate. It may not do much for your skin, but it puts a smile on my face – that’s beautiful, right?

  19. 19 kristy
    April 1, 2010 at 2:04 am

    My beauty secret is that I wash my face as soon as I wake up and before I go to bed.

  20. 20 theprophecygirl
    April 1, 2010 at 5:45 am

    The bronzer+baby oil is new to me. I like that idea. I am really sensitive to tan in a bottle, too, so this would work great for me. Thanks!

  21. 21 Donna Boruff
    April 1, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Thanks for sharing all the great tips…

    I keep a bottle of Witch Hazel which can be bought at any drug store . For me personally It works wonders …It’s a natural astrigent..and keeps my skin clear. I also wear a lot of S.P.F … I don’t care for the smell of the Witch hazel but I use it in the shower to cut down the smell!

    Thanks Again

  22. 22 Ravzie
    April 1, 2010 at 8:47 am

    The article has lots of good basic info. Hydration is an often overlooked point!! I like some of the ideas posted by the readers. Gotta check out that frozen spoons thing!!

  23. 23 ConiSu
    April 1, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Great tips, thanks for sharing 🙂
    I’ve found that a final rinse with cold water after shampooing leaves my hair much shinier than when I use warm water.

  24. 24 Em
    April 1, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I’ve actually heard that you should wait and put the concealer on after you do your eyes so that if you smudge your eye liner or, especially, your mascara.

  25. April 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I do this in the summer time to keep my hair healthy and combat the effects of chlorine.

    I blend 1 egg, about 2T of olive oil and 1/2 a small cucumber (peeled), spread it on my hair, wrap in a plastic grocery bag and leave it in for 15 minutes, then rinse.

    The egg and olive oil moisturize my hair and the cucumber is slightly astringent. Sometimes I’ll add some rosemary (fresh preferrably).

    I have waist-length hair so I can’t afford to have it damaged – it’ll take forever to grow out again!!

  26. 26 Falon
    April 1, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Great tips – thanks for sharing!

    I use olive oil for moisturizer. Just a little bit does the trick and keeps my skin moisturized and healthy looking all day long!

  27. 27 gina
    April 1, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    When I want to go light on the make up & skip mascara I use vaseline on my lashes to make them look healthy. I wish I could fully agree with the cleansing every night tip, but I mostly wash my face in the morning only & I have never encountered any skin issues. I also dont use foundation though, so maybe that has something to do with it.

  28. 28 Charlene Kuser
    April 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    This is really good beauty advice and I am guilty of not cleaning my face before I
    go to bed.I will start using moisturizer,I have oily skin which kept me from using it
    A great article keep them coming.Thanks

  29. 29 mineola
    April 1, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    My favorite internal beauty tip is to take a good quality flax seed oil daily (makes a huge difference in how supple your skin is!) and I use the olive oil method for facial cleansing too so as not to dry out my skin.

  30. 30 Ann T.
    April 10, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Now that its sandals and flip flops time again,.. I need my feet soft and without cracks on the heels so I take a shower before going to bed, rub vaseline all over my feet and put on socks and wake up with the softest footsies ever! Loving all the above tips, loved reading them =)

  31. 31 Elizabeth I
    April 11, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Here are mine:

    If you are over 30, glycolic acid is your friend (it is one of the steps in Proactiv). My skin looked so dull, but I cannot get over what the glycolic acid is doing. I am a huge skeptic…but it works.

    Use illumination or a light eyeshadow on the cheeks, forehead, nose, and chin…it give you a slight glow and you will look years younger.

    Concealer AROUND the eyes, not just underneath….

    Whiten teeth…can’t beat brighter teeth.

  32. 32 carol y l
    April 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Doing a good workout every day and eating low inflammatory foods.

  33. 33 CJ
    April 20, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    My beauty secret is to take vitamins.
    Fish or flax seed = anti inflammatory


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


