11
Apr
10

Updating my wardrobe for Mexico

Yes, it’s true, I’m off to Riveria Maya later this week!

The down side of back-to-back live-blogging opportunities is that I will be wearing similar clothes in a lot of pix – and that is not acceptable in my book. In order to make sure I was ready, I updated my wardrobe with a few choice new items from one of my very favorite web destinations, DownEast Basics.

Check out what I got: Obviously, a fabulous beach bag is intrinsic to all beach jaunts — and I’ve been using the same one since my trip to Mexico LAST YEAR. It’s getting embarrasing. So, on my next trip, I will be wearing DownEast’s New Beauty Bag — pictured at left.

I actually am considering using it locally for summer grocery shopping (eco-friendly!) as well – it’s fully lined, made of natural fibers, and most importantly is so darn cute!

What goes on my bod is, obviously, a little more complicated: The dinners in such tropical environments tend to be festive-casual, and a fun, flirty dress is always ideal.

I agonized a bit about what to wear for our first dinner, and I think I found my solution!

Behold my Sunday Best – literally. It’s called the Sunday Best Dress, and from the light and flowy raglan sleeve dress to the applique flowers on waistband, it’s PERFECT for the setting I’ll be in. I can’t wait to wear it!

My only decision remains in what shoes to accessorize it with…I am tempted to go for flip flops but would that be going TOO far? I’m not sure…

One last acquisition had to be a fun top I could pair with a great skirt and wear in the daytime as we shopped in the local area markets.

My work was done when I discovered the Corsage top, absolutely festive in short-sleeve chiffon, but comfortable to be worn with everything from a skirt to jean shorts!

I love it – and if anything, it’s the most versatile new addition.

However, I’m curious what YOU think.

Please take a second to check out these three new pieces of my wardrobe – and tell me your favorite, and why! One reader will win the item they say is their favorite – so choose carefully!

Deadline to enter is April 20.

14 Responses to “Updating my wardrobe for Mexico”


  1. 1 Ann T.
    April 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    You’re going back to Mexico?! I can’t say it enough, I REALLY want your life! eheh wow that’s an awesome opportunity, HAVE FUN, be safe!! and oh yea, my favorite is that short sleeve chiffon blouse, with the cute little flower on it. thanks!

  2. April 11, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Dear Aly,
    The Sunday Best Dress would be my fav piece- for all of the reasons you listed- flirty,festive casual, feminine applique flowers..lovely. I like it also because it would suit any bodytype- and that’s not easy. Short girls and full body types would look adorable in this- as well as tall skinny girls like myself. For my long legs i might be tempted to wear some cocoa brown leggings, the ivory neutral of the dress would offset any skin tone well. great pic!
    Monica.

  3. 3 Holly
    April 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I just got back from the Rivera Maya, well actually Isla Mujeres, I would of loved the bag for the beach 🙂

  4. 4 Eliane T.
    April 16, 2010 at 6:43 am

    I love the Sunday Best Dress. I usually don’t wear dress but for this one I would make an exception =D Great color and looks so soft.
    Thanks for the chance.

  5. 5 Carole S
    April 16, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I love the corsage top because it covers enough and looks professional for the office, yet you can go out after work for drinks and look great. Love the navy over the white (I checked the website.)

    Cheers!

  6. 6 Valeen N
    April 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I really love the Beach Bag! It is cute and summery and just has a happy feel to it! It’s definately my favorite!

  7. 7 Julie K
    April 19, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I can picture the great weather, but I am a really bad dresser for the summer. I definitely need some new hot weather clothes!

  8. 8 darcyo
    April 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Mexico! What fun! I love the DownEast’s New Beauty Bag. I could see myself using it on the beach or at the pool.

  9. 9 Karla
    April 20, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Reminded me of my trip to Mexico. what a great time

  10. 10 Erin Walsh
    April 20, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I like the Corsage top because it’s very simple and basic, but you can use it with a skirt for a dressier look or a pair of jeans for a more casual look, throw a jacket over it and it’s a work blouse. It’s great.

  11. 11 Pamela S
    April 20, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I love the “Sunday Best Dress”. I’ve actually been eying that dress for a bit now online and coveting it!! I’d love to win it! Thanks.

  12. 12 Susan Smith
    April 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I like the Corsage top because you can wear it with shorts, jean or a skirt.

  13. 13 Melanie
    April 20, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    I really adore the navy corsage top! Im really into wearing navy lately, it can actually be a pretty girly color when worn the right way.

  14. 14 Karen
    April 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    I love navy, too!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


