14
Apr
10

Guilty Pleasures: Body Wash

Every beauty writer has that one product type she can’t help but hoard.

For some, it’s scrubs, for others, lotions. For me, forever and always, it’s been body wash.

A look into my tiny apartment will see dozens of bottles, in various exotic flavors — and I go through them fast. As in, probably a bottle a week. As far as I’m concerned, there’s few pleasures (well, that you can have while destitute and alone) more sublime than massaging your body in creamy sweetness that just happens to make you feel and smell fabulous after.

But obviously, I have favorites within this category. Here’s some currently at the top of my list:

Suave Mango Mandarin is amazing. It’s super fragrant, but not in a distracting way, and sort of wakes up my senses as I use it. It’s also hydrating, which I consider ESSENTIAL.

Obviously, as you can tell by the name, it’s infused with mango and mandarin extracts, but it also has Vitamin E, which is where that super-moisturizing ability comes from. I like it better than the Bath and Body Works version of this flavor, and it’s a FRACTION of the price!

Also in the fabulous and well under $10 category…

I’m crazy for Caress’s new Cream Whipped Sorbet Body Wash, shown here in White Peach.

I swear to you – and I say this as someone suffering from severely dry skin — this is so hydrating that I can skip body lotion after using it, without a problem!

It goes on very light and creamy, and is whipped with White Peach and a blend of Silk Blossom, which cleanses and super-moisturizes.

One warning: This is SO creamy that I”ve noticed if I’m not careful, I end up with body wash drops all over my shower walls. Or maybe I’m just using way more than I should be in a single shower…

If you have dry skin, you will probably also enjoy Dove’s Go Fresh Beauty Body Wash – it has a mixture of grapefruit and lemongrass scents — which, I confess, makes me crave Thai food.

But…get this, it has fabulous little invigorating beads of moisture that help to wake up your skin, as the scent wakes up your senses. I find this to be very much a “morning” wash, while I’d be using my whipped sorbet wash at night, more often.

Will add to this with more honorable mentions — but please post below with some of your favorites!

12 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures: Body Wash”


  1. April 14, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Sephora’s Riviera Blue body scrub is AMAZING! The complementing lotions and washes don’t smell quite as good IMO, and the scrub leaves blue speckles all over your shower (though, it wipes off easily), but it is literally a mini-vacation for me every day.

  2. 2 Carole S
    April 17, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I, too, love using body washes. I prefer the citrusy ones and am currently using Mario Badescu’s citrus body cleanser and then slather on their Shimmer Shine body lotion.

  3. 3 Claudia
    April 17, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Dove has a body wash I must recommend to you. THey have a ‘flavor’ that is Aloe and it smells amazing. Normally, I don’t like aloe products as I don’t find that they actually do much or smell but this body wash smells so refreshing and crisp. I just love it. Give it a try especially since you like Dove already!

  4. April 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    I love Caress Body Wash, I’m obsessed with the Karite Butter one it smells SO GOOD!

  5. 5 Marc
    April 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    My wife uses the Suave Mango Mandarin and I have to say I like the smell so much I use it myself!

  6. 6 Valeen N
    April 19, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I’m a big fan of the Caress Body Wash! I love how my skin feels after! Thanks for the great review. It helps me to know what else is out there and good!

  7. April 19, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I would like to find some decent unscented body wash. My husband has severe scent-triggered allergies, so I can’t use anything perfumed, or even with a strong natural scent. I’d like to have the soft, smooth skin you get from using certain bodywashes, but I can’t come out of the shower smelling like a flower, or I can’t get near my man!

  8. 8 Carolsue
    April 20, 2010 at 2:39 am

    I have always used Caress bar soap and recently began using their Body Wash. It smells so good, much better than any others I tried!
    digicat{AT}sbcglobal{DOT}net

  9. 9 Karla
    April 20, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I love body wash too!

  10. 10 Erin Walsh
    April 20, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I have never used a body wash before, but with a name like “Mango Mandarin” I might have to try it sometime.

  11. 11 Pamela S
    April 20, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    I love body washes too, but don’t currently have a favorite. I think I’ll try your favorites and see what I think! Grapefruit & lemongrass/white peach sorbet/mango…..how could anyone go wrong with those choices!!! Thanks.

  12. 12 Susan Smith
    April 20, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I’m a big fan of the Caress Body Wash, I like any scent. It makes my skin feel soft.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


