17
Apr
10

Best Day Ever: I Visit QVC Studios!

I had the most amazingly fun day yesterday.

At the crack of dawn (OK, that part wasn’t fun), a car picked me up — but the fun part was the car took me out to the nether regions of Pennsylvania, to visit QVC Studios!

Aly + Chaz Dean = LOVE (On his set at QVC)

They invited me — the ONLY blogger they invited actually — out to watch the excitement as they embarked on the Beauty Bash: 24 hours of non-stop beauty programming.

I learned so much!!! While there, I got to chat with the gorgeous Chaz Dean of the Wen hair collection (I asked him his summer hair predictions, and he said bold and blonde will be hotter than ever!) and Mally Roncal (who said her favorite day to night trick is just adding some great black liner. That’s mine too!)

But my favorite moment of the day was a half hour talk with Dr. Denese in her dressing room, just minutes before she went on set for her show. I asked her what major skin mistakes girls much age were making, and she said we’re using the same thick/overpowering creams our grandmas use! Young girls should wear thinner serums — which actually penetrate our skin better!

I also got to go behind the scenes to the control room to watch the line producers at work — crazy intense work — and visit the warehouse area. So not sexy, but that made it cooler.

QVC is a well-oiled machine, so much content and programming is going on, but everyone is all so chill about it!

And here’s another awesome part – they sent me home with the most amazing gift bag ever, worth around $1000, from my estimates, and I’m going to award it to one of you!

(I’m awesome like that.)

This gift bag contains over 30 of the most popular products from your favorite beauty experts & ground-breaking brands like Ojon, Philosophy, Ojon, Kate Somerville, Clarisonic and so many more! To enter, comment below and share your favorite shopping at home memory — and then choose any other two entries on this site and comment on those as well! Deadline to enter is May 1st…good luck!

15 Responses to “Best Day Ever: I Visit QVC Studios!”


  1. 1 Carole S
    April 17, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Favorite shop-at-home memory would be the time I got to talk w/ Mally Roncal when I was ordering her eye pencils, which are FABULOUS btw. She was so fun and nice and informative. I got my few seconds of fame AND some great eye pencils. 🙂

  2. 2 momznite
    April 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I didn’t realize QVC was located in Pennsylvania. Sounds like it was an informative and fun visit!

  3. April 17, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Hi Aly, Great post….my aunt took my grandmother to see a live QVC event several years ago, as QVC was her “live feed” all day long before she past away….it was a fabulous experience for her!

    My favorite at home shopping is done mostly via Ebay and I’ve gotten some absolute phenomenal deals as a result…including outfitting my entire esthetics practice with top of the line equipment as a result!

    Have a blessed day!

    Glenda~~~

  4. 4 Claudia
    April 17, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    My favorite shop at home memory was when I went to my parents house last year to recuperate after complex leg and back surgery. That first night or two at their house I was pretty much ‘out of it’ from all of the pain medications. However, I wasn’t *that* out of it, I later learned.

    About a week went by after the surgery and I started receiving packages at my parents house from QVC. I received some fantastic make-up, a plant, several pieces of gorgeous jewelry, hair care products and a pair of pajamas. Apparently, I ordered all of these products during the first day or two at my parents house through their television set. The cable company they have allows you to just ‘click and order’ products from QVC via the television! Apparently, I figured this out and went on a shopping spree right from bed in a full hip to toe cast!

    Receiving these QVC items was almost like a6ttending my very own birthday party since I didn’t remember ordering any of the items but it was everything that I wanted!

  5. 5 Joanne Schultz
    April 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    ooh what fun to be in the midst of all that! Great that they gave you that luscious gift bag! Can’t believe you didn’t keep it for yourself!!

  6. April 18, 2010 at 7:06 am

    You are the luckiest blogger evah!!! 🙂

  7. 7 Ashley
    April 18, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    How fun! I’ve always been fascinated by the QVC behind-the-scenes and was excited to read about your experience.

    Unfortunately, I don’t have a favorite shop-at-home memory as I don’t normally tune into these networks for fear of not being able to control any spending impulse I may have. I think that’s probably healthy for my marriage. 🙂

    ashaldridge (at) gmail (dot) com

  8. April 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    My funniest shop at home memory was one summer when I lost Phone Service (pre cell phone days) and almost every single item on Jay King’s Mine Finds caught my eye! I live on a Fifth Floor walk up and I kept getting frustrated because I wanted to wait to combine my picks into one order at the end of the hour but everything I really wanted all SOLD OUT! Then the show re-aired at some un-godly hour of the morning and I turned it off quick because I wasn’t braving this neighborhood at that hour!

    I also commented on 2 non-givaway posts!

  9. 9 Carolsue
    April 20, 2010 at 2:44 am

    What a cute picture! My favorite shop-at-home experience was when I got married–the crew at work took up a collection and as a wedding gift, I was given a $100 gift certificate to QVC. There were so many things I wanted (and needed). I ended up getting some badly needed cookware, although I sure was tempted by the jewelry, etc.
    I commented on two other popsts — Guilty Pleasures and Lori Goldstein
    digicat{AT}sbcglobal{DOT}net

  10. 10 Jeanette H.
    April 20, 2010 at 6:42 am

    WOW! Visiting QVC studios must have been soooo cool!! Hope you had a blast!!

  11. 11 Erin Walsh
    April 20, 2010 at 10:21 am

    My favorite shop at home memory was the first year that internet shopping first became popular, between coupons, discounts, giveaways and free shipping I had all of my Christmas shopping done in a few hours and just about $100 dollars. It was blissful.

    Commented:

    https://alywalansky.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/guilty-pleasures-body-wash/#comment-855

    https://alywalansky.wordpress.com/2010/04/01/aging-like-injuries-to-the-skin/#comment-856

  12. 12 Justine
    April 20, 2010 at 11:32 am

    So did you end up getting some ‘stuff’ from QVC lol? I would have a difficult time leaving there without checking out all their great products, awesome!

  13. April 20, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    What an exciting day! Very cool experience to have. – – – I’m a bit jealous!

  14. 14 Ann T.
    April 28, 2010 at 11:00 am

    My favorite memories was of my mom and her friends shopping away from home and even though it was over 10yrs ago, I was just amazed at how many people were buying things from the convenience of home. I would beg her to get me a little lip gloss or blush back then and was SUPER excited to get it. thanks =)

  15. 15 Deanna G.
    May 1, 2010 at 12:35 am

    My favorite shopping at home memory was probably when I ordered from this discount beauty place and not only did I get what I ordered but then sent me tons of extras! It was like Christmas!

    Commented on:
    https://alywalansky.wordpress.com/2010/04/25/dive-into-summer-style/#comment-908
    https://alywalansky.wordpress.com/2010/04/25/dive-into-summer-style/#comment-908


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers


