28
Aug
10

Emmy Weekend Day 1: Emmy Performers Nominee Reception

I am sorry to say: Hollywood may just party better than NYC.

Then again, truth be told is that I’ve never been to an Emmy party in NYC, and last night I hit up my first in LA. Ironically, it was at the same spot I attended the Hollywood Breakthrough Awards just last week.

It was a pretty surreal night — on one end, I watched the men of “Modern Family” sitting on couches, reuniting among beers, while across the room, the Mad Men crowd huddled at the Gray Goose bar.

The Emmys’ performers nominee reception was held at  Wolfgang Puck’s Spectra, a gorgeous inside/outside lounge/bar inside the Pacific Design Center. Emmy nominees Ty Burrell, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Eric Stonestreet and Fred Willard, along with Nolan Gould, who plays Burrell’s son on Modern Family, mingled at a party so posh, at the last minute I ended up wearing one of my potential Emmy night dresses to it!

The dress I wore was by Apart — and it was very sequin-snazzy – but my pix came out dark. I will post good ones as soon as I get them from the real photogs!

“I’m trying to maintain as much normalcy on the day as possible,” supporting comedy actor nominee Ferguson said of his Emmy day plans. “And then, like, someone’s coming over to my house to do my hair. Like what is it that needs to be done? A little gel? Apparently, someone wants to put the gel in my hair for me, so there you go.”

Truth be told, I sort of need someone to do something with MY HAIR right at this moment. Hours by the SLS Hotel pool are amazing for the soul — horrible for the blowout. But anyway…

On the other side of the party, “Dexter” actor James Remar and other attendees filled their plates with Chinese chicken salad, Shangri La lobster and miso-glazed salmon. Partygoers also feasted outside on the balcony on short ribs and sweet plantains while listening to a jazz band perform such tunes as “I Kissed a Girl” and the theme song from “Frasier.” But the star attraction of the dishes were DUNCAN HINES cupcakes – they were the dessert sponsor for the event (and actually the ME sponsor, they flew me out to join them at the festivities) and the crowd went gaga over the Red Carpet Glamour cupcakes I blogged about yesterday. I love watching starlets eat cupcakes. Especially in Hollywood. Especially EMMY WEEKEND.

Nominees in attendance, including “Mad Men” actress Elisabeth Moss and “Breaking Bad” star Bryan Cranston, were presented with certificates by Academy of Television Arts and Sciences chairman John Schaffner, who recalled accidentally stepping on Glenn Close’s gown at a Screen Actors Guild event before he handed the “Damages” star her accolade.

“One time, somebody stepped on my train, and my front went down,” Close revealed. (Yes, I met Glenn Close. You see what I mean about a surreal weekend?!)

4 Responses to “Emmy Weekend Day 1: Emmy Performers Nominee Reception”


  1. August 28, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Hi Aly,
    I am learning more about you as I try to find a way in which to contact you that you are certain to read. I can tell that you are very busy by your vast imprint on the internet, and I can also tell that you are a lightening rod for fashion trends.
    My company is LUX gear. Lux is the Latin word for light. Like the light bulb over my head when the idea came to me. Lux is pronounced “looks”, so the tagline is: “GET YOUR ASS IN THE GEAR THAT GETS YOU THE LUX”.I just perfected the worlds only old school tube sock hat. The few people that have seen them are blown away. I just need away to get them to market. They would be PERFECT for Hooters Magazine-“sporty but stylish for the slopes”. These will be the next fasion craze, and you could OFFICIALLY say that you introduced them to the world. Hell, I’d even make you a partner! Please let me know how to send samples, or photos. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE reply….Mike Mikestrassner@gmail.com

  2. August 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Yeah, I’d definitely say that Glenn Close falls in the surreal category. Awesome!

  3. August 31, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Wow! You seemed to have been around all of the stars from my favorite shows, especially Dexter and Mad Men. Thanks for sharing!

  4. August 31, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    As I mentioned on Bakerella’s site, I’m the most intense shade of envious green right now.

    Such a cool excuse to buy a badass dress.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


