26
Oct
10

Voyage to Des Moines: The Better Homes and Gardens Blogger Cookoff

About a month ago, I received an email inviting me to participate in the Better Homes and Garden blogger cookoff, an event created to celebrate the launch of its new cookware line.

My follow constestants and I in the BHG test kitchen. (Photo courtesy of OurBestBites.com)

There was something very … off… about this picture. I am not a food blogger. In fact, I can hardly COOK. Case in point: Five minutes ago I was slicing a block of cheese and stabbed myself. Coordination and following directions, not my strong point. Clearly these are important kitchen aspects!

As part of the competition five of the nation’s leading food bloggers (or, to be honest, 4 of them and ME…a style writer) put our own spin on classic recipes from Better Homes and Gardens’ New Cook Book using the new line of cookware.

People were allowed to vote for us since October 1, and I was doing…BAD. VERY BAD. (Clearly you guys don’t love me as much as you claim.)

Then, this past Thursday, we all went out to Des Moines to Meredith Headquarters, to cook our dishes for the judges in BHG test kitchen. The event was then broadcast live via Facebook updates, Twitter messages, and the BHGLiveBetter website. The winner will be announced November 10, 2010.

The bloggers competing to become the BHG Kitchen Collection Cook-off Champion are: Amy Allen Clark, author of Mom Advice; ME; Daniel Garcia, of the Consumer Queen; Kate Jones and Sara Wells, co-authors on Our Best Bites; and Jenny Flake, author of Picky Palate. The winning cook’s recipe will be featured in an upcoming issue of Better Homes and Gardens magazine, on BHG’s website and Facebook page and in an upcoming issue of Mixing Bowl magazine. In addition, we all received ten full sets of the new BHG Kitchen Collection and Walmart gift cards to give away. (Check out how you can win by going to my Twitter!)

But a curious thing happened…it turned out I was better than I thought!!!

Check out the judges’ final remarks after trying my fish tacos and black bean salad! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Z558Es84M4So, I may possibly WIN. But only if you take the time to vote for me today and EVERY DAY between now and October 31!!! Please please vote today! http://www.bhglivebetter.com/community/contest

1 Response to “Voyage to Des Moines: The Better Homes and Gardens Blogger Cookoff”


  1. 1 Katie W
    November 7, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Aly, I want to know the taco tales! 🙂 The video is gone. Boo. How did it turn out? xox


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


