10
Jan
11

Giveaway: Sorel Cate the Great Boots

You know a boot is special when I’m rambling about them throughout all my blogs in a single day.

The truth is, there doesn’t take a lot to keep me happy. But, among them is my boots NOT FALLING APART when I wear them…which happened just this week with another brand of snow-bunny-type footwear. It was an abomination!

Seriously, girls, all I want is for them to be cute, stay in one piece, and keep me warm — because there’s no reason to buy elegant winter boots if they’re not also going to keep your feet warm. (Says my soggy feet from OTHER BOOTS.)

The main point  — ultimately —  of a winter boot is to have something cozier than your standard city boot that will keep you warm and safe and from falling to your icy death all winter long.

Sorel’s Cate the Great Boot has so far not killed me — and it’s warm and cuddly – it’s made of a vulcanized rubber shell, waterproof suede, and thick insulating felt inside. This all makes it look sexy, and yet do its job too.

Which, again, is ALL I WANT IN THE WORLD.

Well, and to share it – I am so excited about these boots that I am giving them away on THREE of my sites today! You can find them here, on Alytude, and on GLOSS – and they are three distinct giveaways, so you can enter in all three! You can also enter any of the giveaways via Twitter at @alywalansky – so, stay warm! Be happy! Send me cookies!

To enter this giveaway, please comment below, or tweet me, with your scariest icy story that could have been avoided with appropriate footwear. If you follow me (@alywalansky) and Sorel (@SorelFootwear) on Twitter, you score extra entries! Yay! Deadline to enter is February 1st!

68 Responses to “Giveaway: Sorel Cate the Great Boots”


  1. January 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Slipping on ice & breaking my arm!!

  2. 2 tracey
    January 10, 2011 at 2:27 am

    slipped on ice and injured my tailbone…making it unbearable to sit and walk for weeks…not enjoyable

  3. 3 tracey
    January 10, 2011 at 2:28 am

    i follow you on twitter traceylangley

  4. 4 tracey
    January 10, 2011 at 2:40 am

    i now follow @sorelfootwear on twitter too @traceylangley

  5. 5 Vilma
    January 10, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Sadly, my NYC scariest, iciest horror story was on my way to my doctors office, slipped on black ice in the street, and then almost got run over by a car to boot, and the scary part was that I was wearing ‘winter boots’ at the time, they weren’t dress boots, cutesy boots, they were winter boots and I still slid! (too bad it was in the street, and it wasn’t in front of the office, hee hee!):(

  6. 6 Ravzie DiverSheila
    January 10, 2011 at 8:17 am

    For the first time in the years I’ve been married to the hubster, I managed to get locked out when I took the pooch for her morning tinkle a couple of years ago.

    Of course, it was 28 degrees here with a fairly thin yet treacherous layer of iced-over snow and plain ole ice covering everything.

    I had uncombed hair & unbrushed teeth. I was wearing my ugly, but cuddly, gray sweatshirt dress under my appropriately decorated pink with white snowflakes bathrobe. Completing my ensemble were the pink striped rubber rain galoshes I always wear to wander around the frequently wet yard while the dog sniffs out the exact right spot to do her business.

    After emitting a primal scream, I tied up the dog to the porch railing. I went around back where I had hidden an emergency key 3 years ago. You know, the key I have not seen since???

    Naturally, the back steps were covered with ice and snow. I was on hands and knees trying to break through with a dumb stick to search for the hidden key. Could the universe cut me a break and let me find it? No. I searched through the ice, snow, dead leaves, dirt and general detritus until my fingers were frozen solid.

    I weighed the options. Break the window or go to a neighbor’s and phone the sure-to-be-mad-as-heck husband. What a dilemma!! Either way, I was certainly going to earn another “stupid woman” demerit….

    I started hoofing across the acreage to the first neighbor’s house. Consider the picture of me in my lovely get-up, trying not to break my neck as I traveled in my flat, traction-less rain boots. Each step made a sharp “crack” sound as I broke through the icy snow. I sunk to about mid calf deep in some spots. I don’t live in a development – this is a rural area of random houses on fairly large 1 to 2+ acre plots. I know the names of a few of the folks around here, but I don’t really KNOW anyone at all.

    No answer at the first house. I set out for the next one, but first I had to slip and fall on that neighbor’s ice rink driveway. Fortunately, it didn’t hurt too badly when I crashed down. I would have been stuck there all day! No one would have heard me screaming.

    Crack, crack, crack over to the next neighbor’s house. I could tell he had still been asleep when he finally answered the door. I explained what happened and asked to use his phone. Lucky for me, he was a nice guy.

    My husband growled that he was on the way (35 minutes drive on a good traffic day). My neighbor offered me coffee and gave me his jacket. He insisted he would come over and help me try to find the key. I said the hubster was on the way, don’t let me inconvenience you any further, etc. Nope. We were going back to my house.

    This man took some kind of tool from his truck and some heavy gloves. When we got to my house, he got on hands and knees. He broke up the ice and dug around under the stairs where I’d hidden the key. The key did not appear. He then tried to open the locked door with his knife and his credit card. Guess I have a pretty good lock.

    I thanked him for trying, said the husband was on the way. The dog and I would wait here on the porch. My neighbor invited me to wait at his place. But I couldn’t bear the long trek back there again, and my husband would not know where I was. Plus I didn’t want to leave my dog alone on the porch. I couldn’t take her along, as he had 2 big dogs and there would be a lot of barking, perhaps some peeing – I couldn’t risk it.

    I sat with my pup and waited. And waited. And waited. Finally I saw the car arrive, yay, to be warm again soon. As you could imagine, the husband was not pleased at all. I thought, “I’ll hear about it more tonight”. Actually, I’ll probably never hear the end of it.

    After thawing a little and dressing properly, I wrote a thank you card. I tucked in a Starbucks card I happened to have. I put it in the jacket pocket and drove over to my neighbor’s house. He did not answer, so I figured he went back to sleep. I put the jacket on the seat of his truck.

    SO – I don’t think the proper footwear could’ve prevented that event, but it sure would have helped!!!

  7. 7 Jeannine m
    January 10, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    When I was a co-manager at a gas station I was walking out to my car after work one morning when I slipped and fell on the ice by my car.

  8. 8 Brigitta
    January 10, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    BOO to bad shoes in bad weather. I am horrified that anything touted as snowgear would spontaneously de-structure itself, let alone with fewer than a couple months of wear.

    Sorels are awesome. They were one of the go-to brands I knew well in college (outdoorsy mountain town), and you could sure tell the locals from the snowbirds by their footwear. 🙂

    Another popular brand was the infamous Birkenstock. Which many folk adapted for winter wear by simply adding a nubby pair of marled cotton socks. Attractive? God, no. But the closest to outdoor slipper-socks you can get. Needless to say, the day I fractured my tailbone walking down my slush-coated front steps I was not wearing Sorels. No, I had donned Birks. Imagine all the cheap whiskey and vicodin and Terry Gilliam movies (remember, it was college) I could have avoided had I only been wearing smarter footwear!

  9. January 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Scariest icy slip was when i was crossing the street and my already achy knee slammed into the street while crossing. I was so shocked

  10. 10 Ellyn
    January 11, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Proper snow/ice shoes are soooo important. I was wearing shoes without traction when I slipped on my top step, and I slid down then remaining 12 steps on my butt, needless to say my entire butt was black and blue and it really hurt to sit!

  11. 11 Allie
    January 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Last winter, during one of the bad storms we had, school was shut down. As a teacher I was happy about this because it is tough to get around before things have been properly shoveled and plowed. The following day, there was still ice around. As I was crossing the street, I stepped on a patch of black ice and fell all the way down! Now, I was not injured — just embarrassed! The worst part is, SEVERAL people saw it happen, walked around me and did not ask, “Are you ok?” How rude!!! I always ask if someone’s ok if I see them fall!!

  12. 12 Wehaf
    January 13, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    The worst thing was always waiting for the school bus or in the school yard in school shoes instead of boots, and freezing our toes. We weren’t allowed to wear boots, and we cursed the administration for it!

  13. 13 stormvikki@aol.com
    January 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    My husband and I went out to some property we were interested in buying with a friend. It had snowed some, and he went along with us to help find the boundaries. The back of the property line was the river, and a stream flowed through the property to the river. I wore tennis shoes which was not so bright. As we went down towards the river I started sliding- and kept sliding till I hooked the root of a tree. I repeatedly tried to climb back up but couldn’t get traction. I was covered in mud and wet- it was 20 degrees outside. My husband tried to help and he slipped and down he went. Luckily our friend was there to pull us back up the hill. Good thing he was there, who knows how long we would have been out cold and wet in the elements if he hadn’t been there to help.

  14. 14 Janice H.
    January 13, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    We had a huge ice storm in northwest Arkansas in 2009. Our power was out for almost two weeks and my roommate and I walked to our neighbor’s house each evening to sleep since they had a generator and to cook food (roads were impassable by car from fallen trees, branches, etc). It was freezing, slippery and miserable. The warmest shoes I had were my two pairs of UGGs and unfortunately every night they were soaked and cold. I’d have to hang them by their fire to dry before heading back the next morning. And then trading off for the other pair on arrival. From that winter on, I’ve been hunting for the ultimate winter boot and these Sorel’s sound like the ONE! Fingers crossed for a win! Our winters are hardly snowy but always icey!  

  15. 15 Judy Bradley
    January 13, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    My scariest for me was when I lived in a rented house on a busy street in Iowa. I went out to get something from the car. I put on a pair of old loafers I kept by the door. Soon as I went out the door I was slipping & sliding, grabbing at bushes as I slid past, holding on just enough to keep my descent down the cement stairs from hurting me then losing my grip & sliding to the car and slipping toward the street with its rush hour traffic to work. I managed to grab hold of the back car door handle and pull myself to the car, then to the front seat & get into the car. I turned it on and stayed there until my breathing & heart rate returned to normal. My son came out a few minutes later and spread salt everywhere. He helped me back inside. I was sure I was going to be under some fast moving car out there on the street – by the way I now live in FL. I get invited back there, maybe I would go with the right boots!!

  16. 16 Holli
    January 14, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Slipped on ice and got a concussion.

  17. 17 FaithJ
    January 14, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Years ago, when my friend and I were looking for churches to have my wedding at, it was very very snowy. We pulled into an unplowed church parking lot, and everything was fine. But when we went to leave, we drove through what we thought was still the parking lot, but it was actually the church’s lawn. My car got stuck, with the wheels spinning and spinning. I got out in my tennis shoes and tried pushing while my friend gunned it. It did not budge, and I kept sinking into the snow. I wish I had some Sorel boots on back then. I don’t know if it was terrifying, but it was certainly humiliating.

  18. 18 FaithJ
    January 14, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    I am following you on Twitter as @ZombiKitten!

  19. 19 FaithJ
    January 14, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I am following Sorel on Twitter as @ZombiKitten!

  20. 20 Nikki Dorr
    January 15, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Scariest slip for me was when i was wearing ice skates. I should stick to boots. Preferably these.

  21. 21 Linz
    January 15, 2011 at 12:07 am

    All I can say, it was REALLY tall black boots, REALLY bad black ice, REALLY good date = appointment at the orthopedic surgeon the next day #fail

  22. 22 KFloveinme
    January 15, 2011 at 12:13 am

    The Monday of the recently famous NYC blizzard of Dec.2010, I had to get to a doctor’s appointment. The train station is about 4 blocks away & it took me forever to get there. Not only because of the snow/ice but also because it was very very windy. While walking in the middle of the street making my way to the train station, this strong wind came out of nowhere. I was really fighting it off. Trying to get cover I was trying to walk towards a parked car & I slipped and slid towards the car & banged my arm. I had a little bruise but thank God I wasn’t badly hurt. I finally got to the train station & my train line was suspended!! GRRR! Determined to get to my appointment I walked 15 blocks to the next train station where I was slipping & falling all the way! SMH! I have to say it was kinda fun especially since I didn’t get too too banged up. LOL!

    Thanks for a great giveaway!
    kfloveinme(at)gmail(dot)com

  23. 23 KFloveinme
    January 15, 2011 at 12:16 am

    I follow you on twitter @mskenyaf

    kfloveinme(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. 24 KFloveinme
    January 15, 2011 at 12:16 am

    I follow SorelFootwear on twitter @mskenyaf
    kfloveinme(at)gmail(dot)com

  25. January 15, 2011 at 12:48 am

    last year, i was walking to a party and totally ate it slipping on an icy driveaway…not only did i have a huge bruise down my leg, my bracelet has a huge dent in it. It was hilarious but it hurt so badly!

  26. January 15, 2011 at 12:49 am

    i follow you on twitter @smashley_ashley

  27. January 15, 2011 at 1:16 am

    I was just in early pregnancy and I think I remember slipping on some icey snow in front of a Deli window. Landed on the pavement, a bit shaken up and kinda stunned… It’s a fairy scarey feeling because you feel so protective of the sweet wee baby growing inside you. Good boots may have had better traction!

  28. January 15, 2011 at 1:16 am

    @toothfairycyber follows you on twitter

  29. January 15, 2011 at 1:17 am

    @SorelFootwear is followed by @toothfairycyber

  30. January 15, 2011 at 10:44 am

    My most recent scary ice story – I went to step into my apartment building’s main door and practically fell backwards because I didn’t realize there was a huge ice slick in front of the door. After I caught my breath, all I could imagine was myself laying on the ground with a head injury from the cement sidewalk! YIKES! So happy that didn’t happen but these boots would help insure it won’t in the future. 🙂

  31. January 15, 2011 at 10:45 am

    I follow Sorel on twitter! – @fashfrugality

  32. January 15, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Following you on twitter – @fashfrugality

  33. January 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Fortunately, I don’t have too many horrible ice stories – I just walk around like a penguin, shuffling about! But since I live in Wisconsin, it’s a treacherous terrain!

    jessicahamm at gmail dot com

  34. January 15, 2011 at 10:59 am

    And I’m following you and Sorel via Twitter @style_obsession

  35. 35 @bobisyellow
    January 15, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    slipped on the stairs and had a bruise the size of an orange on my a**, another time fell on my upper lip and had to go to the store with blood and little pieces of gravel embedded, luckily it was a small local store

  36. 36 molomatic
    January 15, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Ack, a couple of years ago I slipped down my icy steps. Ouch! My tailbone hurt for over a week. I’ll never forget that one. Love, love, these Sorel’s, thanks!

  37. 37 molomatic
    January 15, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I’m following you on Twitter @molomatic, thanks!

  38. 38 molomatic
    January 15, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I’m also following @SorelFootwear on Twitter (I’m @molomatic), thanks!

  39. January 15, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I learned about the penguin thing a lot time ago and it works so don’t have any ice stories 🙂

  40. 40 MOM4everandever
    January 16, 2011 at 2:30 am

    learned the penquin thing too but there have been times these would have been handy like when we did not have power…iced iced baby and no generator for a week during an ice storm- the grill cooked our food and melted our water for the toliet- think th scariest would have to be walking in a hurry running when I lived in the city for the subway and took a bumpity bump down the stairs and got up and thought ok I am alive and then somehow missed the bumps for traction and slid on those. Have had plenty of tumbles like walking to the car and ending up skating to the car and plowing into the door- or worse yet getting out of the car and dancing with door swinging as I got out not seeing the black ice.

  41. 41 Dee
    January 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I think the scariest icy moment this year was smart me decided to go down a hill in the dark wearing slipper flats. There was black ice everywhere and I couldn’t walk along the pavement due to all the gathered snow and couldn’t step in that. The hill was steeper than I realized and after slipping twice I literally scooted a little of the way down. It was humiliating and cold to say the least lol. At least it was on a residential street!

  42. 43 Dee
    January 17, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I follow you on twitter @deegee13

  43. 44 Rosie Andrews
    January 17, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I attended university in Montreal and in order to get to the Student Services building, one had to climb a rather steep hill that became absolutely treacherous once the snow flew and ice formed on the sidewalks. Unfortunately for me, I had to get up the hill from hell one winter day and ended up on my keester more than once. The fact that I had chosen to wear cowboy boots that day did nothing to help me in my quest up the hill!

  44. January 17, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    “scariest icy story that could have been avoided with appropriate footwear” Without a doubt, I have to say the scariest for me was when my mother slipped on outdoor stairs on her way to my great-grandmother’s funeral in the middle of an Indiana winter. She literally was on her way to the funeral home and ended up in the ER with a broken ankle instead. My poor Mom ended up missing the funeral and I don’t know if she’s ever been able to forgive herself. Both of us had always been very close with my great-grandmother who was such a feisty and loving lady.

    I think if she had been wearing winter boots instead of dress shoes she might not have fallen on the ice.

  45. 46 Emily N.
    January 17, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    I’ve done the splits a few times! Ouch. I need shoes with good traction.

  46. 47 Jen
    January 18, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    I love this giveaway!
    So here is the most recent icy story of mine: I have a pair of brown winter boots that have a cuff of fur around the top. Basically, they are fashion boots DISGUISED as winter boots, because the first time I wore them in the snow, I slipped and twisted my ankle almost as soon as I exited my apartment. When I arrived to my class (this is a grad school story), I noticed through the throbbing pain that my feet were totally soaked. Apparently the boots have no traction and no waterproofing whatsoever! Imposter winter boots! So I had to sit through a 3-hour lecture with a sprained ankle and wet feet before I could bum a ride home from a friend. You may ask if I threw the boots out–the answer is no, they were brand new and I just couldn’t do it. But from that day onward I have only worn them when it’s bone dry outside, at the beginning of fall.
    Down with fake winter boots, and long live the real deals!

  47. 48 jennifer b
    January 18, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    I fell down the the steps on our icy porch and banged up my head. I could have avoided by wearing proper shoes and putting the salt down

  48. 49 sunchicka
    January 19, 2011 at 12:32 am

    I was on my way to class and I noticed icicles forming in my hair. While trying to save my hair, I lost my footing and collided into a pole. Lesson learned feet have priority over hair.

  49. 50 Jacquie Klein
    January 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I don’t leave my house when it is icy outside! Isn’t that scary? Maybe with the right footwear, this behavior could be avoided?

  50. January 24, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I was in kitzbuhel, austria walking down a hill and my boots slid righout out from under me – I slid the whole way down on my butt but luckily didn’t break anything. THe rubber bottom of my boots fell apart and they was nothing to grip the icy snow – luckily I was able to get the traction things at the shoe store to put on the bottom.

  51. January 24, 2011 at 10:29 am

    I follow you on twitter – treetrout1

  52. January 24, 2011 at 10:30 am

    I also follow sorel on twitter – @treetrout1

  53. January 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I was in Colorado once on a family ski trip and managed to skid what felt like halfway down a mountain because I was wearing inappropriate footwear. Ouch. In Wichita we don’t have treacherous inclines but we do get an awful lot of ice in the wintertime, so Cate the Great would be fab for walking the dog.

    @superdumb follows you and Sorel!

  54. January 27, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Oh goodness. I slipped on some ice as I was walking on the sidewalk into my work, on one icy Alabama morning. Eek! It definitely hurt, but I think what was worse was the embarrassment I felt when I realized my coworkers were watching me slip and slide out the window. Ha.

  55. January 27, 2011 at 12:54 am

    I follow you on Twitter: @hotchild

  56. January 27, 2011 at 12:54 am

    I follow Sorel on Twitter: @hotchild

  57. 58 Shugah
    January 27, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Scary was tonight leaving planet fitness in Harlem on 125. I had on Nike sneakers and the sidewalk was slick with ice. A guy stomped behind me and demanded my bag. I tried to walk fast but I couldn’t without losing my balance. I held my bag tighter and carefully kept walking as this man tried to rob me. Made it a few feet to the corner with my heart pounding & finally more pedestrians. It was a little easier to walk on 125 so I sped up& hopped in a cab 10 blocks to my destination.

    Had I had sorels, I would have been able to walk with confidence or run like hell.

    @shugah

  58. 59 Shugah
    January 27, 2011 at 5:17 am

    I follow you — @shugah

  59. January 27, 2011 at 9:18 am

    There’s hardly ever a whole lot of snow in Georgia but this year we got a few inches. My car is notorious for the gauges working improperly and I didn’t know I was running out of gas. I ran out of gas right in front of a gas station, luckily, but as I was crossing the four lane highway on foot I slipped on the median and banged up my face and nose. I was wearing plain flats and I was freezing!

  60. January 27, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Not really scary, but certainly uncomfortable. Today, my trusty rain boots that I have had for 3 years sprouted an invisible hole. After trekking to work through puddles galore, I arrived with soaking wet feet and had to sit there all day uncomfortable and wet. FUN!

  61. 62 Gina
    January 30, 2011 at 2:58 am

    It was one of those days with the sun bright like fluorescence over the white snow. I never look forward to these sunny days after a snowfall because that’s when the roads become slick as oil. I was walking down a hill and I slipped — much like a cartoon character who slips on a banana peel — and fell hard on my derriere. I saw both my legs fly up in the air. Not that scary but needless to say, a tad embarrassing.

  62. 63 rose b
    February 1, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    just fell on my butt this past saturday and needed 3 people to help me up cuz i kept slipping. Was mortifying!

  63. 64 vikki m
    February 1, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Falling down my steps wish I had a good pair of boots on.

  64. 65 vikki m
    February 1, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    following on twitter @mefink

  65. 66 vikki m
    February 1, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    following@SorelFootwear

  66. 67 Jan
    February 6, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Giveaway:/sorel Cate the Great Boots-
    The scariest event on ice was when my husband and I took our 3 kids snow skiing for the first time. First time for our kids but my husband and I had skied for a few years. Kids picked up sking really well and did great for first time. We all had a great day. At the End of day we took our skis off and were walking in our ski boots to return our rentals my husband stepped on a very small section of black ice and bamm. Feet over head and flat on his back. He was not breathing nor moving. I was terrified but the kids of course found it ammusing. After an hour lying on the snow, the medical crew was able to help him to his feet. AFter a 4 hour ride home and a visit to the ER. He came out with 3 broken rids and a concusion. Three years later we are going on our next ski trip in a couple of weeks. We hope to have an uneventful trip.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


