29
Mar
11

Getting Old Must Be So Scary…

As everyone is aware, I loiter most of my afternoons writing on my computer at the local bagel store.

When you have “a spot” (before this, it was the bar at the local Mexican restaurant, so I guess I’m moving up in the world), you tend to notice a cast of regular characters. In this case, there’s an elderly woman, Dottie, who comes daily, in the mid-afternoon hours, for a bagel and coffee.

The woman, who is 90 if she’s a day, was minutes ago walking in, as some kid ran out the front door, not watching where he was going — and tripped her.

Dottie seemed to be fine, but the bagel store owner helped her into a chair, and she starts to cry out of embarrassment and frustration.

Ultimately, the bagel proprietor asks: “Can i call anyone for you?” and she said “No, there’s no one left.”

I can’t even imagine…and yet there’s this unbelievable egg of fear inside me that I was just looking into my own future.

3 Responses to “Getting Old Must Be So Scary…”


  1. 1 Ravzie @DiverSheila
    March 29, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    I’m certainly not enjoying this whole aging thing…

    Sad story. That will be me in 40 years, as I chose not to have children. But I frequently take care of old people WITH children who are still alone. Very sad.

  2. March 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I turn 31 tomorrow and despite the mam’s and the no-second look thing that starts to happen when you get over that hump, it’s all good. I also work for a woman who is exactly 30 years older than me to the day. I find that this whole experience is keeping me from really being an old mess. Great post.

  3. 3 Brigitta
    April 4, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    i feel for dottie. my grandmother’s mother was the last of her family and friends to go, and grandmother always said she never wanted that – old, alone, and senile. but of course that’s precisely the card fate dealt her.
    poor dottie. at least you and the bagel man have some class. i hope someone trips that kid.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

Follow Aly on Twitter


